Ontario.—On May 27, 1941, Hon. Peter Heenan became Minister of Labour, Hon. N. O. Hipel became Minister of Lands and Forests and Hon. F. R. Oliver assumed the portfolio of Public Welfare in addition to that of Public Works.

Manitoba.—On May 3, Hon. Mr. Bracken assumed the portfolio of Dominion-Provincial Relations and Hon. James O. McLenaghen was sworn in as Attorney General vice Hon. W. J. Major. On May 15, Hon. S. S. Garson assumed the portfolio of Telephones and Telegraphs.

Saskatchewan.—Consequent upon the entry into active service of the Provincial Secretary, Hon. E. M. Culliton, a reorganization of the Ministry became effective on May 3, 1941; Hon. Mr. Culliton remained in the Ministry as Minister without Portfolio and his former duties were divided between the other members of the Ministry as follows: Provincial Secretary and the charge of Theatres and Cinematographs Act to Hon. Mr. Uhrich; the charge of the Public Printing and Bureau of Publications Acts to Hon. W. F. Kerr; and the charge of the Provincial Tax Commission Act to Hon. A. T. Procter.

The St. Lawrence Seaway.—Developments in connection with this great undertaking are noted in the Introduction to this volume, p. xxix.

Imperial Honours to Canadians.—On Dec. 15, 1940, Mr. Arthur B. Purvis, Director General of the British Purchasing Commission in the United States, was created a Member of His Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council. The King's Birthday Honours list, published on June 12, 1941, announced the elevation of the Rt. Hon. R. B. Bennett, P.C., former Prime Minister of Canada, and now a resident of England, to a viscountcy, in recognition of his war work in the United Kingdom. In the same list, the Hon. Vincent Massey, High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, was named to the Imperial Privy Council. On July 1, Hon. Raoul Dandurand, Minister without portfolio in the Canadian Cabinet and Government leader in the Senate was appointed to the Imperial Privy Council.

Section 2.—Obituary

1940.—(See also pp. 1135-36 of the 1940 Year Book.) July 8, Gerard Power, Quebec, Que., former M.L.C. for Quebec. July 12, Murdoch C. MacLean, M.A., Social Analysis Branch, Dominion Bureau of Statistics. Ottawa, Ont., Chief, July 17, Frank N. Darke, Regina, Sask., former M.P. for Regina. July 20, Mr. Justice Nicol Jeffrey, Guelph, Ont., former Judge of the Supreme Court of Ontario. July 25, Sir Thomas Tait, St. Andrews, N.B., former Director General of National July 28, Mr. Justice Marie Joseph Demers, Montreal, Que., Judge of the Superior Court for Montreal District and former M.P. for St. Johns-Iberville. July 29, Hon. Frank Carrel, Quebec, Que., M.L.C. for the Golfe division of July 30, Col. S. Maynard Rogers, Ottawa, Ont., former Superintendent, Jasper National Park. Aug. 1, Hon. J. F. Daniel, Montreal, Que., M.L.C. for de Lanaudière. Aug. 18, Dr. Leonard J. Simpson, Picton, Ont., Minister of Education for Ontario. Aug. 25, Hon. J. A. Guibault, Joliette, Que., Justice of the Superior Aug. 29, Edward M. Kindle, B.A., M.S., LL.D., Ottawa, Ont., former Chief Palæontologist, Geological Survey. Sept. 10, Hon. Guillaume André Fauteux, Montreal, Que., Senator for de Salaberry. Hon. Joseph Marcelin Wilson, Montreal, Que., former Senator for Sorel. Sept. 14, Charles Edward Stewart, Ottawa, Ont., former Assistant Commissioner of Lights, Dept. of Marine. Sept. 16, John T. Johnston, B.A.Sc., Toronto, Ont., Controller of Dominion Water and Power Bureau, Surveys and Engineering Branch, Dept. of Mines and Resources. Sept. 27, Louis